Return to Headlines

Congratulations to our High School AP Scholar Award Recipients

Fifty-nine Glen Cove High School students earned 2022 AP Scholar Awards for outstanding college-level achievement through their performance in multiple AP Exams, over the course of their high school careers. Over the past several years, our AP program has continued to climb to new heights. We are now offering 21 different AP courses at the high school. The number of our AP Scholars continues to grow each year. 

Glen Cove High School Assistant Principal, Katie Prudente said, “I always love seeing our students challenge themselves and I am so proud of all of our AP Scholars for their hard work and dedication to their courses.”

“I am extremely proud of these students primarily because, despite spending a significant part of their high school academia at home or via online distance learning, and amid a pandemic, they persevered and remained committed to their studies. Congratulations to each of them as they continue to strive for excellence!" said Principal Allen Hudson III.

"These students have challenged themselves to take such coursework and I congratulate them on their success. This also speaks to their character and commitment to their own education.  I am so proud of them!” said Superintendent, Dr. Maria Rianna. 

Thirteen students earned the AP Capstone Diploma: Aidan Costella, Holly Farnan, Aisling Greene, Melissa Herrera, Allaina James, Michael Kang, Dana Levy, Teresa Melfi, Rehiya Naqvi, Alexander Piascik, Sam Rosenberg, Brooke Tran and Miranda Weiser.  The AP Capstone Diploma is granted to students who earn scores of 3 or higher in AP Seminar and AP Research and on 4 additional AP Exams of their choosing. 

Nine students earned the AP Seminar and Research Certificate: Brianna Araujo, Rahjel Conze, Ornella Datkhayeva, Brooke Freitag, Elijah Goldstein, Alessandra Juarez, Elijah Roditi, Leyla Turcios and Dakota Wiesner. The AP Seminar and Research Certificate is granted to students who earn scores of 3 or higher in both AP Seminar and AP Research. 

Eight students earned AP Scholar with Distinction: Michaela Adam, Caralena Genova, Aisling Greene, Melissa Herrera, Teresa Melfi, Sam Rosenberg, Joseph Thom and Brooke Tran. The AP Scholar with Distinction is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. 

Six students earned AP Scholar with Honor recognition for receiving an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Bethel Aschalew, Aidan Costella, Patryk Kon, Shefali Mahapatro, Virginia Papasidero and Evelyn Sullivan.

Forty-two students who received scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams qualified for AP Scholar status: Valerie Acosta, Josiah Aschalew, Christina Badame, Sydney Baiata, Carter Beckhard-Suozzi, Christine Calderon, Jessica Callaghan, Keith Callaghan, Marisabel Cavese, Jaida Ciampi, Rahjel Conze, Gabriel Constantino, Mason Dall, Philip Dilgard-Clark, Agostino Facciolo, Holly Farnan, Leydi Flores, Brooke Freitag, Elijah Goldstein, Eric Graziosi, Virginia Graziosi, Caleb Ham, Lily Hoffman, Allyna Hurston James, Allaina James, Alessandra Juarez; Michael Kang; Dana Levy, Rehiya Naqvi, Joshua Pernett, Alexander Piascik, Thomas Potter, Elijah Roditi, Lila Santamaria, Samantha Seery, Doris Serrano, Kristen Sita; Grace Spoto, Allison Tuifel, Miranda Weiser, Dakota Wiesner and Sarah Yates.

GCHS offers 21 AP courses, spanning art, computer science, English, history, math, sciences and world languages. For information regarding AP offerings, view the Course Curriculum Guide